Alpha Jones CSFM MiLB groundskeeper of the year
Alpha Jones, CSFM

2023 MiLB Head Groundskeepers of the Year announced

Minor League Baseball (MiLB) announced the winners of the 2023 Head Groundskeeper of the Year Awards for each level of play. The winners were selected using the results of surveys of league managers, players and executives throughout the 2023 season.

Additionally, one head groundskeeper from each classification was selected as the overall winner for their respective level of play.

The 2023 winners are (* denotes winner for overall level of play):

Ben Hartman
  • AAA International: Kyle Leppelmeier (Toledo)*
  • AAA Pacific Coast: Nick Rozkilski (Round Rock)
  • AA Eastern: Chris Walsh (Akron)
  • AA Southern: Scotty Atkins (Pensacola)
  • AA Texas: Ben Hartman (Wichita)*
  • A+ Midwest: Jaymeson Wilcox (Beloit)
  • A+ Northwest: Levi Weber (Vancouver)
  • A+ South Atlantic: Josh Leo (Winston-Salem)*
  • A California: James Templeton (Visalia)
  • A Carolina: Alpha Jones, CSFM (Fayetteville)*
  • A Florida State: Joe Knight (Bradenton)

In addition to head groundskeepers, MiLB also recognized home and visiting clubhouse attendants from each league.

“We are pleased to recognize the winners of these awards as they work tirelessly behind the scenes to provide the best possible environment for our players and staffs,” said Major League Baseball’s Senior Vice President of Minor League Operations and Development, Peter Woodfork. “Their efforts are appreciated and do not go unnoticed by players and coaches throughout the Minor Leagues.”