Synthetic Turf Council Board of Directors

Synthetic Turf Council announces 2023-24 board of directors

The Synthetic Turf Council (STC) announced its 2023-2024 board of directors at its annual conference in New Orleans. This year marks the 20th anniversary for the national nonprofit trade association representing the synthetic turf industry. The conference featured an educational program with panel discussions about synthetic turf market trends, zero-waste design and construction, playground accessibility and recycling innovations.

For the 2023-2024 term, board officers include:

  • Chairman Michael Gentile, co-founder/CEO, Firefly Sports Testing;
  • Vice Chairman Matt Ross, regional vice president, Shaw Sports Turf;
  • Treasurer Shannan Powell, senior manager, ForeverLawn of Tampa Bay;
  • Secretary Thomas Shay, principal, Woodard & Curran;
  • Director at Large Matt Riggs, vice president of sales – Americas, TenCate Grass; and
  • Immediate Past Chairman Shaun Garrity, national sales manager, The Motz Group.

Remaining directors include:

  • Scott Marks, CSTI, managing member, Southeast Turf LLC;
  • Michael Mercadante, regional sales manager, Sportsfield Specialties Inc.;
  • George Neagle, CSTI, president, SYNLawn;
  • Ed Norton, partner, HNP, LLC;
  • Peter Oksanen, national sales manager, Schmitz Foam Products;
  • Chip Richardson, CSTI, president, Sweetwater Construction;
  • Larry Ridgeway, president and CEO, PrecisionJet.

“As we embark on this journey, expect continued dedication to advancing our industry and creating opportunities for buyers, end-users and communities,” said Gentile.