Environmental Facility Certification Program Expands

The SFMA Environmental Facility Certification Program added two assessment areas to its new Version 3. Managed Landscape and Open Areas and Synthetic Surfaces are now part of the assessment instrument.

Sixteen questions cover management practices in landscaped and open areas. These include mowing, water management, pesticide use, pollinators, nesting opportunities, native plantings, signage and more.

The new synthetic surfaces section is to only be used for a synthetic surface within a complex that is primarily natural grass fields. A synthetic complex does not qualify for assessment. Areas covered include construction, drainage, heat monitoring, sanitation, grooming, disposal and more.

SFMA Environmental Certified Facility

These two new sections join the 10 existing assessment areas:

  • Stormwater Management
  • Fertilization
  • Pesticides/Integrated Pest Management
  • Recycling
  • Composting
  • Mowing
  • Energy Conservation
  • Shop Buildings and Storage Areas
  • Irrigation, Water Quality and Water Conservation
  • Educational Outreach Program

Attaining an 80 percent rating on each of the 12 sections is required for the self-assessment phase of this program to move to the next phase, which is attesting. After achieving the required 80 percent on the assessment sections, the facility manager engages an attester, who must be a certified sports field manager (CSFM). The attester walks through the facility with the field manager to validate that the environmental practices that are in the assessment are in place or are being addressed.

When the attesting phase is complete and validated, environmental facility certification is awarded for three years, and a plaque recognizing the honor may be purchased.

A new logo recognizing this achievement has been developed as part of SFMA’s rebrand, which was unveiled at the annual conference in January.