Ten Field of the Year winners were honored during the Sports Turf Managers Association’s (STMA) Annual Awards banquet last month in San José. A panel of seven judges independently scored each entry based on the playability and appearance of the playing surfaces, innovative solutions to turf-related issues, effective use of budget, and the development and implementation of a comprehensive, sound agronomic program.

New this year to the Field of the Year program is the Sporting Grounds of the Year, a category implemented to recognize those fields where unique sports such as field hockey, lacrosse, rugby, tennis, or other distinctive sports are played.

The STMA Field of the Year Program would not be possible without the generous support of the Awards Program Sponsors: Carolina Green Corp.; Covermaster, Inc; Hunter Industries; Turface; ScottsTurf-Seed, Inc.; and World Class Athletic Surfaces.

The winners of the STMA Fieldof the Year Awards include:

Sporting Grounds

Professional—Longwood Cricket Club, West Newton, MA, Michael Buras, CSFM

College and University—University of New England, Biddeford, ME, Lance Tibbetts, CSFM


College and University—Patricia Wilson Field, Stetson University, DeLand, FL, George Marshall


Professional—Dick’s Sporting Goods Park, Commerce City, CO, Bret Baird

College and University—Papé Field, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR, Eric Fasbender, CSFM


College and University—Lane Stadium, Worsham Field, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA, Jason Bowers, CSFM

Schools and Parks—Bobby Gruhn Field, Gainesville, GA, David Presnell


Professional—Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium, Appleton, WI, Eddie Warczak

College and University—Russ Chandler Stadium, Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA, Todd Tribble and Jon DeWitt

Schools and Parks—J.W. Sadler Field, Westerville, OH, Kenny Nichols

SportsField Management