During December, the STMA membership elected via ballot five officers and four directors, who took office during the Annual Meeting January 15. Three current directors’ terms will not be up for election until 2010. President Abby McNeal, CSFM appointed a fifth director during the annual meeting, which brings the total to 13 members on the STMA Board of Directors.

This election celebrates two milestones in STMA’s history. The first woman president of STMA, Abby McNeal, CSFM, was elected and significant Bylaws changes make it the first election for an expanded board, a combined Secretary/Treasurer position, and one-year terms for Officers. Previously, STMA had a 12-member board, a separate Secretary and Treasurer, and two-year terms for Officers. The governance changes were developed over two years by the STMA Governance Task Force, approved by the STMA Board and membership and implemented by the STMA Bylaws Committee. 


President–Abby McNeal, CSFM

Immediate Past President–Mike Andresen, CSFM

President-Elect–Chris Calcaterra, M.Ed., CSFM, CPRP

Vice President Commercial–Dale Getz, CSFM, CSE

Secretary-Treasurer–Troy Smith, CSFM


Professional Facilities–Larry DiVito

K-12–Martin Kaufman, CSFM

Commercial–Chad Price, CSFM

At-Large–John Sorochan, Ph.D.

At-Large (Appointed)–Jody Gill

(The following are beginning the second year of their terms as Directors)

Higher Education–Amy Fouty, CSFM

Parks and Recreation–David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP

Academic–Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D.

SportsField Management