SFMA Founders Awards
Dick Ericson Award winner Bill Marbet (left)

SFMA announces 2023 Founders Award Winners

SFMA has named the recipients of the 2023 Founders Awards, recognizing four members who have made significant contributions to SFMA and the profession.

The association’s highest honor, the Founders Awards, are named after the four SFMA founders who were not only pioneers and innovators but left a lasting impact on the industry. The 2023 honorees are:

  • Bill Marbet, Line to Line LLC – Dick Ericson Award
  • Kristen Althouse, Pennsylvania Turfgrass Council – Dr. William H. Daniel Award
  • Dr. Drew Miller of the Brentsville School District Turfgrass Management Program – George Toma Golden Rake Award
  • David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, CPWP-M, Lexington Department of Public Works – Harry C. Gill Founders Award

“We are proud to announce the remarkable recipients of the 2023 Founders Awards,” says Laura Simmons, SFMA CEO. “These individuals embody excellence in our field and demonstrate a dedication to our profession worthy of the esteemed founders after whom these awards are named. Their outstanding contributions inspire our association and its members, enriching us with their passion, professionalism, and unwavering commitment.”

Winners were honored during the 2024 SFMA Conference & Exhibition that took place in Daytona Beach, FL. from January 22-25. For more information on the conference, please visit: https://www.sportsfieldmanagement.org/conference.

Not pictured: Kristen Althouse – Dr. William H. Daniel Award