GMA Industry Awards

The winners of the Grounds Management Association (GMA) Industry Awards 2022 were announced during a packed-out gala ceremony at the Vox, Birmingham NEC, hosted by BBC broadcaster Mark Clemmit.

The prestigious awards ceremony recognised talent from across the grounds care industry, by acknowledging the people who are making a huge difference in local communities, sports clubs, and educational establishments across the country.

The sell-out event made its long-awaited return, after a two-year pandemic-enforced hiatus, with more than 500 of the industry’s leading grounds care experts from both the professional and volunteer sector, industry suppliers and dignitaries from the governing bodies of sport and influential sports administrators in attendance to honour the expertise, the dedication, and the passion by exceptional grounds personnel.

In total, eighteen awards were presented – celebrating a range of achievements, including Young Grounds Person of the Year, Best Environmental and Sustainability Impact, and International Impact Award, plus the esteemed Alex R Millar award as well as two new entries into the GMA Hall of Fame.

The winners of the GMA Industry Awards 2022 are:

  • Young Grounds Person of the Year (Sponsored by Origin Amenity Solutions): Dylan Thompson – Doncaster Rovers Football Club
  • Newcomer of the Year (Sponsored by Reesink): Thomas Hall – Leicester City Football Club
  • Volunteer Sports Grounds Team / Individual of the Year (Sponsored by Kubota UK & Redexim): Broughton Recreation Field
  • Community Sports Club Grounds Team / Individual of the Year (Sponsored by National Governing Bodies˚): Milton Colts Football Club
  • Bowls/Croquet Grounds Team/Individual of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Wantage Bowling Club
  • Best Managed Artificial Surface of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Yeovil Recreational Centre
  • Best Environmental and Sustainability Impact (Sponsored by Sports&Turf): Yeovil Recreational Centre
  • Professional Cricket Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Warwickshire County Cricket Club
  • Professional Tennis Courts Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Infinicut): The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club
  • Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Goodwood Racecourse
  • Professional Rugby Football League Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Wigan Warriors
  • Professional Rugby Football Union Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Harlequins RUFC
  • Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year (A)* (Sponsored by AMS Robotics): Newport County Association Football Club
  • Professional Football Grounds Team (B)** (Sponsored by SGL): Leicester City Football Club
  • University / College Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Net World Sports): University of Warwick
  • Independent School Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by the GMA): Whitgift School
  • International Impact Award (Sponsored by the GMA): Oliver Grice-Hewitt – Udinese Calcio Football Club
  • Alex R Millar Award: John Ledwidge – Leicester City Football Club

*For English Leagues 1 & 2, National League, National League North/South, Scottish Championship & Leagues 1 & 2, Ireland & Wales Professional Leagues

**For Premier League, Championship and Scottish Premier League