Synthetic Turf Council announces new board of directors

The Synthetic Turf Council (STC) announced its 2022-2023 board of directors at its annual membership meeting October 17-19, 2022, in Washington, D.C. 

For the 2022-2023 term, the board officers include Chairman Shaun Garrity, national sales manager, The Motz Group; Vice Chairman Larry Ridgeway, president and CEO, PrecisionJet; Treasurer Holli Durchik, project manager, Foresite Design, Inc.; Secretary Shannan Powell, senior manager, ForeverLawn of Tampa Bay; Director at Large Thomas Boehme, CEO, Genan Inc.; and Immediate Past Chairman Laith Ross, senior principal, RossTarrant Architects. 

Two new directors – Michael Gentile, co-founder/CEO, Firefly Sports Testing and Matt Riggs, vice president of sales-Americas, TenCate Grass – are joining the board, and Shannan Powell was re-elected to serve for a two-year term ending in 2024. 

Remaining directors include Todd DeWolfe, VP of business development and Research, AstroTurf; Mark Klementti, sports field consultant, R.K. Associates; Ed Norton, partner, HNP, LLC; Matt Ross, regional vice president, Shaw Sports Turf; Thomas Shay, principal, Woodard & Curran. 

“We are delighted to welcome our new and returning board members. This team of leaders puts the STC in a strong position to lead, educate and advocate for synthetic turf,” said Melanie Taylor, STC president and CEO. 

The 2023 STC Annual Membership Meeting and 20th Anniversary Celebration will be held on October 16-18, 2023, in New Orleans.