Toro Water Conservation Business Manager Jim Laiche was awarded the American Society of Irrigation Consultants 2014 Roy Williams Memorial Award at this year's annual conference in Portland, OR.

Jim Laiche honored with ASIC achievement award

Toro Water Conservation Business Manager Jim Laiche was awarded the American Society of Irrigation Consultants 2014 Roy Williams Memorial Award at this year’s annual conference in Portland, Oregon.   Jim Laiche, who grew up in south Louisiana, was introduced to irrigation in Dallas, TX, working for a small landscape and irrigation company where he learned to design and install irrigation systems. Armed with a BS in Horticulture from Louisiana State University and his Texas Irrigator’s License, he started a local irrigation contracting company in Texas. He later earned his Masters in Landscape Architecture from LSU.  Laiche joined The Toro Company in 1988 calling on contractors, consultants, distributors and golf courses. As regional sales manager, Laiche organized numerous Toro University training events and has taught hundreds of irrigation workshops at various national universities. He also has served Toro as a central control specialist, working with several large institutions to reduce irrigation water use, including Disney, University of Notre Dame, Baylor University, Central Park, General Mills, Yum Brands and Darden Restaurants.

“I’m honored to be recognized with the Roy Williams Award and be in the company of such great past recipients,” says Laiche.  “I don’t see myself as anyone special. I can truly say that I love my job. When you feel that way, just doing what you do for a living is a privilege not a task.”
“Jim has dedicated the last 25 years of his career teaching the importance of – and improving the practice of – professional irrigation,” offers ASIC Executive Director Carol Colein. “His guidance in applying irrigation design and central control in effecting critical water conservation principles represents in part the future of irrigation.”  
Named after an ASIC founder and one of the original independent irrigation consultants some 27 years ago, the Roy Williams award is given for significant contributions to the irrigation industry by an individual, organization or business.

Formerly the ASIC Industry Achievement Award, the Roy Williams Award was renamed after the Society’s founder and first president in 1988. Recent past winners include:

Dave Davis
Denne Goldstein
Bill Kubly
Dr. James Watson

The Roy Williams Award is not an annual accolade. It is given to an individual or organization as the Society deems appropriate. Any member of the Society may submit nominations in industry areas that include irrigation design and application, water conservation, research, academia, manufacturing, and all related fields. ASIC members and non-members alike are eligible for the Roy Williams Award.


The American Society of Irrigation Consultants (ASIC) was formed in 1970. Its members are committed to representing the client in providing independent irrigation consulting services for the effective use and management of water and other natural resources.

For more information on the American Society of Irrigation Consultants or this year’s award recipients/projects, please call 508/763-8140 or visit