Pioneer Athletics announces the 38 winners of the 2008 Field of Excellence Award. These outstanding fields and athletic complexes represent universities, high schools, recreation and athletic clubs from around the country.

Pioneer Athletics announces 2008 Field of Excellence Award winners

Pioneer Athletics proudly announces the winners of the 2008 Field of Excellence® Award.  These 38 outstanding fields and athletic complexes represent universities, high schools, recreation and athletic clubs from around the country:

School/Organization                                                            City & State

*Benton Harbor High School                      Benton Harbor, MI Scholarship Winner

*Grassfield high School                               Chesapeake, VA     Scholarship Winner


Carroll College                                                            Helena, MT

Central Regional School District                                 Bayville, NJ

Crestview High School                                               Convoy, OH

Dekalb High School                                                    Waterloo, IN

East Sac County CSD                                                            Lake View, IA

Edwardsburg Public Schools                                      Edwardsburg,  MI

Ensworth High School                                                Nashville, TN

Eufaula High School                                                   Eufaula, AL

Florida International University                                   Miami, FL

Freemont High School                                                Fremont, IN

Galeton Area School Dist                                           Galeton, PA

Genoa Area High School                                            Genoa, OH

Gibsonburg High School                                             Gibsonburg, OH

Green Local Schools                                                  Green, OH

Hanover-Horton School Dist                                      Horton, MI

James A Garfield H.S.                                               Garretsville, OH

Jonesville Community Schools                                  Jonesville, MI

Lakewood Public Schools                                          Lake Odessa,  MI

Manchester Local Schools H.S.                                 Akron,  OH

Mansfield Senior High                                                            Mansfield, OH

Maple Valley Jr/Sr H.S.                                              Vermontville,   MI

New Hampshire Fishercats                                        Manchester, NH

Olmsted Falls H.S.                                                      Olmsted Falls, OH

Reicher Catholic H.S.                                                 Waco,  TX

South Bend CSC (Clay Field)                                                South Bend, IN

South Bend CSC (Jackson Field)                              South Bend, IN

Southern Regional High School                                 Manahawkin,  NJ

St. Paul’s Episcopal School                                        Mobile, AL

Sturgis public Schools                                                Sturgis, MI

Tinley Park H.S.                                                         Tinley Park, IL

Trenton Public Schools                                               Trenton, MI

Twinsburg Parks & Rec                                              Twinsburg, OH

University of Florida                                                    Gainesville, FL

University of Louisville                                                Louisville, KY

Vidor Ind School Dist                                                  Vidor, TX

Woodmore High School                                             Woodville, OH

Each of the winning fields displayed the originality and creativity that Pioneer was looking for.  Each recipient will be awarded a certificate of recognition and a Field of Excellence banner.  In addition, Benton Harbor High School and Grassfield High School were selected as this year’s scholarship winners. These two schools will be awarded a $500 scholarship given to the student-athlete of their choice.

Pioneer understands that excellence in athletic field maintenance goes unrecognized and often, unappreciated. The Field of Excellence Award Program honors outstanding athletic fields and their hard working field crews who diligently maintain them. The Field of Excellence Award Program was established in 1998 and has honored over 315 fields since its creation.