SFMA scholarships and grants open July 1

SFMA scholarship and grant applications open July 1.

SAFE scholarships include: The Dr. James Watson (sponsored by The Toro Co.), these include scholarships for students in Graduate, Four-year, and Two-year programs, and the Dr. Fred Grau, funded by The SAFE Foundation for the top two-year student.

The Paul Zwaska Scholarship, presented by Beacon Athletics, promotes diversity within the profession through an annual scholarship program for students from groups underrepresented in SFMA. The scholarship award recognizes and encourages full-time students pursuing a career in the Sports Field Management profession.

Darian Daily Legacy Scholarship will be awarded each year in the amount of $3,000 each to (2) qualified individuals.

Leo Goertz Membership Grant

The Leo Goertz Membership Grant, funded by the SAFE Foundation and Pioneer Athletics, awards up to $1,500 annually for new, two-year memberships in the SFMA. It honors Leo Goertz’s commitment to the sports turf industry and supports sports field managers who haven’t been SFMA members for at least five years.

Gary Vanden Berg Internship Grant

The Gary Vanden Berg Internship Grant, established by the SAFE Foundation, awards $1,000 to an SFMA Student Member to offset internship costs, honoring Gary Vanden Berg’s dedication to promoting internships in the sports turf industry.

Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant

Sponsored by Turface Athletics, the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant awards $1,000 to an SFMA member for conference attendance, recognizing Terry Mellor’s legacy.

The deadline for all scholarship and grant applications is Oct. 15.