SFMA Student Challenge

SFMA Student Challenge

The SFMA Student Challenge featured students from 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities throughout the country competing in an exam that challenges knowledge in the sports field management industry. The winning teams received a cash award, a plaque and medallions for each team member. The prize money benefits the institution’s turfgrass program and creates opportunities for students pursuing a career in sports field management.

2-year winning teams

  • 1st place: Penn State Team 302 – Camden Macek, Simon Wattier, Tyler Houghton and Jake Gartley
  • 2nd place: Kirkwood Team 203 – Bennett Cooper, Cade Hougland, Tyler Johnson and Davin Wickman
  • 3rd place: Mt. San Antonio Team 206 – Jessie Lerma, Kevin Magana, Kenneth Rodriguez and Mayra Rubio

4-year winning teams

  • 1st place: Iowa State Team 402 – Trevor Clawson, James Sprague, Mira Emma and Bryce Witham
  • 2nd place: Purdue University Team 204 – Hayden Flick, Jacob Winger, Eli Ziliak and Broden Piel
  • 3rd place: Penn State Team 306 – Chase Minnick, Aidan Huedepohl, Ryan Zolotsky and Dylan Deschamp
Photos by Mark Skalny, courtesy of SFMA

The SFMA Student Challenge is presented in partnership with the SAFE Foundation, Founding Partner Hunter Industries, and supporting sponsor Ewing.