STMA Board of Directors takes office

At the 2017 Annual Meeting, the STMA Board of Directors officially took office. STMA’s new President is Tim VanLoo, CSFM and Manager of Athletics Turf/Grounds for Iowa State University in Ames.

Other STMA officers elected to the Board include:

  • President-Elect – Sarah Martin, CSFM, City of Phoenix (Phoenix, Ariz.)
  • Immediate Past President – Jeff Salmond, CSFM, Director of Athletic Field Management, University of Oklahoma (Norman, Okla.)
  • Secretary / Treasurer – Jody Gill, CSFM, Grounds Coordinator, Blue Valley School District (Overland Park, Kan.)
  • Vice President Commercial – Doug Schattinger, President, Pioneer Athletics (Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Professional Facilities Director – Weston Appelfeller, CSFM, Director of Grounds, Columbus Crew (Columbus, Ohio)

Directors fulfilling second-year terms are:

  • Academic Director – Elizabeth Guertal, Ph.D., Auburn University (Auburn, Ala.)
  • Higher Education Director – Nick McKenna, CSFM, Baseball Field Manager, Texas A&M (College Station, Texas)

Members elected to Director positions include:

  • Schools K-12 Director – Sun Roesslein, CSFM, Manager, North Area Athletic Complex (Arvada, Colo.)
  • Commercial Director – Boyd Montgomery, CSFM, Certified Sales Executive, Regional Business Manager, The Toro Company (Minneapolis, Minn.)
  • Elected-at-Large Director – Matt Anderson, CSFM, Grounds Superintendent, University of Arizona (Tucson, Ariz.)

Members appointed to the Board include:

  • Randy Price, Tri-Tex Grass (Granbury, Texas)
  • Jimmy Simpson, CSFM, Town of Cary (Cary, N.C.)

To read about the Board Members’ vision for the STMA, click here.