Pioneer Athletics Pioneers in the Field

On January 18, 2022, Pioneer Athletics announced its third class of “Pioneers in the Field.” Pioneer Athletics made the announcement during the SFMA annual conference in Savannah, Ga.

“Pioneers in the Field” was designed to bring visibility to professionals making a difference in their corner of the turf industry. This year’s class has experience spanning over decades, innovation with lasting impact and qualities that serve as inspiration to us all.

The following six sports turf professionals were named as the 2022 Pioneers in the Field class. 

•             Sun Roesslein, CSFM, Stadium Manager: North Area Athletic Complex

•             Mike Hebrard, Owner: Athletic Field Design

•             Frank Avalos, Head Maintenance Repairman: Rocky River School District

•             Mike Garcia, Stadium Foreman: Oklahoma City Public Schools

•             John Clintsman, Head of Grounds: Ensworth School

•             Wayne Ward, Turf and Grounds Manager: Raymond James Stadium

This year’s class will join the previously announced 2020 and 2021 Pioneers in the Field classes. To read their stories, visit