Founders nominations are open

The nominations process for STMA’s most prestigious awards, the Founders, is open.

These awards are named in honor of STMA’s four early leaders: George Toma, Dick Ericson, William Daniel and Harry Gill. Each award has its own criteria based on the founder’s characteristics.

See the criteria for each award and download the PDF form or Word Document to nominate a member who embodies the attributes of one or more of the Founders. Submittals due Oct. 15.  Once you have completed the form, save it and email it to

STMA’s four founders:

Dick Ericson served as STMA’s first President from 1981-1982. He has, and continues to have, an impact in raising the level of professionalism within the industry. The Ericson Award recognizes a member who effectively manages sports fields and their facility and exhibits the qualities of a true team leader. See a list of current and previous winners.

Dr. William Daniel set the pattern for educator/researcher involvement in STMA. The partnership between educators and researchers and the sports turf managers who incorporate these advances in on-the-field applications is key to the progress of the industry. The Daniel Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the industry through research, teaching or extension. See a list of current and previous winners.

George Toma continues to serve as a mentor for many in the sports turf industry. He always emphasizes the importance of the entire crew in effective sports turf management. George’s motto is ‘if you love what you do and give it your all – and then some’ you can achieve your goals. The George Toma Golden Rake Award validates the ‘and then some’ attitude of a sports turf member in “on the job” activities and in community service. See a list of current and previous winners.

Harry Gill served as STMA’s second president from 1982 – 1983. His commitment to the sports turf profession and his desire and efforts to lay the groundwork for the fledgling STMA to succeed are legendary among those who were fortunate to have known him. See a list of current and previous winners.