ASBA announces new officers and directors

The American Sports Builders Association (ASBA) announced the election of its officers and directors for the coming membership year.

The new slate took its place at the conclusion of the ASBA’s Technical Meeting, held in Orlando, Fla. The meeting, which featured an all-time high attendance of more than 750,drew attendees from not only across the United States, but around the world.

Mark Heinlein, the association’s present fields division president, was elected to the office of chairman for the coming year. Heinlein is the director of technical projects and research with the Motz Group, LLC, in Cincinnati, Ohio. He holds the Certified Field Builder (CFB) designation, has spoken at meetings and has been active on the committee level of the Association as well, serving on both the Awards Committee and the committee to edit and revise the ASBA’s publication, Sports Fields: A Construction and Maintenance Manual.

Kristoff Eldridge, CTB, of Cape & Island Tennis & Track, in Pocasset, Mass., who has served as the association’s chairman, will take the office of past chair.

Elected to the position of fields division president was Kirk Grego of Mid-America Golf & Landscape, Inc. in Lee’s Summit, Missouri. Grego is a Certified Field Builder (CFB) and previously served on the board of directors as the secretary/treasurer.

William Chaffe has been elected to the position of secretary/treasurer of the association. Chaffe is the president of Paragon Sports Constructors, LLC, in Fort Worth, Texas, and has been active in ASBA.

Two individuals who have been re-elected to their current positions are Tennis Division President Matt Strom, CTCB, of Leslie Coatings, Inc. in Indianapolis, and Supplier Division President David Moxley, of Sportsfield Specialties, Inc., in Delhi, N.Y..

Continuing in their current positions are Track Division President Paul Nagle, CTB, of Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc., in Syracuse, N.Y.; Courts & Recreation Division President Randy Resley, of Sport Court of the Rockies, Highlands Ranch, Colo.; and Professional Division President Megan Buczynski, PE, LEED AP, of Activitas, Inc., in Dedham, Mass.

Newly elected to the board of directors was Craig Honkomp, PE, PS, LEED AP, who will represent the Professional Division of the Association. Honkomp is with Sportworks Field Design in West Chester, Ohio.

Current members of the board of directors re-elected to new terms were Todd Dettor of Fast-Dry Courts, Inc. & 10-S Tennis Supply in Pompano Beach, Fla.; and Dale Hendrickson of TD Sports, Inc. – Sport Court of Southern California, in Simi Valley, Calif. Both Dettor and Hendrickson will continue to represent the Builder Division of the Association. Chris Sullivan, RLA of Verde Design, Inc., Folsom, Calif., was re-elected to the board, representing the Professional Division.

Those continuing as members of the board of directors, representing the Builder Division, David Clapp, CTB, CTCB (Baseline Sports Construction, Knoxville, Tenn.), Joe Covington (Covington Flooring Co., Inc., Birmingham, Ala.), Jordan Fisher, CTB (Fisher Tracks, Inc., Boone, Iowa), and Jameson Sheley, CFB-S, CTB (Byrne & Jones Sports Construction, Bridgeton, Mo.).

Those continuing to serve on the board of directors, representing the Supplier Division, are David Burke (NGI Sports, Chattanooga, Tenn.) and Tracy Lynch (Har-Tru Sports, Charlottesville, Va.).