SAFE adds Board members

STMA’s charity, The Foundation for Safer Athletic Fields for Everyone (SAFE), has added four new Board members. Appointed to the Board is Jody Gill, CSFM, Blue Valley School District, Overland Park, KS. Those elected to the Board include Marcus Dean, CSFM, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY; Jeff Fowler, Penn State University Extension, Franklin, PA; and Victoria Wallace, University of Connecticut, Norwich, CT.

Other Board of Trustee members include: Chairman of the Board Jay Warnick, CSFM, FIELDS, Inc.; Mike Andresen, CSFM, Iowa State University; Scott Bills, CSFM, Sports Field Solutions, Jon Butler, Pop Warner Little Scholars; David Houseknecht, Little League International; Nick McKenna, CSFM, Texas A&M; Craig Potts, CSFM, Texas A&M; Chad Price, CSFM, CFB, Carolina Green Corp.; Paula Sliefert, The Toro Company; John Sorochan, Ph.D., University of Tennessee; Chris Sperry; and Steve Wightman.

SAFE’s mission is to “Enrich communities through championing safe, sustainable sports and recreation fields for all athletes.”

SAFE currently awards scholarships and grants, provides the student challenge winning teams’ monetary prizes, and funds educational initiatives. It raises money from ground level support from STMA members and through various events held during the STMA annual conference, such as a golf tournament, bowling event, and live and silent auctions.

Corporate sponsorships also help to fund SAFE. Thank you to Beacon Athletics, Carolina Green Corp., Diamond Pro, FIELDS, Inc., Gail Materials, Harrell’s, Little League International, JSM Services, Pioneer Athletics, The Toro Company, Turface Athletics, Vescio’s Sportsfields, and Wesco Turf, Inc.

SAFE recently conducted an online auction that was successful. Look for its next online auction in June! To donate to SAFE, click here.