Florida State League president Chuck Murphy announced the 2013 Florida State League Sports Turf Crew Awards, and the Fort Myers Miracle “Diamond Cutters” won the Municipality Award for the 15th time.

The FSL Municipality Award is given to the best City or County-operated Sports Turf Crew in the Florida State League. Fort Myers, with sports turf manager Keith Blasingim, has received 18 Sports Turf Awards since 1990.

“The Hammond Stadium Grounds Crew does a tremendous job with this entire facility,” said general manager Andrew Seymour. “These guys make everyone look good all year round, and it’s nice to see their hard work rightfully recognized.”

Hammond Stadium hosts nearly 130 days of baseball from the beginning of Minnesota Twins Spring Training to the Miracle season and the Roy Hobbs World Series in the fall.

The awards, initiated in 1990, are selected by Field Managers and Pitching Coaches of each team in the Florida State League. The five awards are Best Overall Award, Municipality award and three Florida State League Commendation Certificates.

The winner of the Best Overall Award, for the 10th year in a row, is the Clearwater Threshers. Clearwater sports turf manager Opie Cheek is named Sports Turf Manager of the Year for the 10th time.

The three teams receiving the Florida State League Commendation Certificates are the Bradenton Marauders, Charlotte Stone Crabs and the Jupiter Hammerheads/Palm Beach Cardinals. The Marauders won for the first time. The Stone Crabs have received 14 awards since 1990 with four of those awards coming since they re-entered the FSL in 2009. The Roger Dean Stadium crew in Jupiter has won an award 11 times.

SportsField Management