Dr. Mike Goatley takes over reins of Sports Turf Managers Association for 2012.

STMA elects 2012 Board of Directors

The STMA Nominating Committee announces the results of the 2012 Board of Directors elections. Those elected to the board include:
President: James Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D., Virginia Tech University, Blacksburg, VA
President-Elect: Martin K. Kaufman, CSFM, Ensworth Schools, Nashville, TN
Vice-President Commercial: Rene Asprion, Diamond Pro/TXI, Dallas, TX
Secretary/Treasurer: David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Town of Lexington, MA
Director – Academic: Jeffrey Fowler, Penn State Cooperative Extension, Franklin, PA
Director – Parks & Rec: Debra Kneeshaw, Portland Parks & Rec, OR
Director – Higher Education: Jeffrey Salmond, CSFM, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK
Director – At Large: Jay Warnick, CSFM, University of Portland Athletics, OR

Those serving a second year in their Director terms are Allen Johnson, CSFM, Director-Facilities used by Professional Athletes from the Green Bay Packers, WI, and Michael Tarantino, CSFM, Director – Schools K-12, who is with Poway USD, CA. Troy Smith, CSFM, Denver Broncos Practice Facility, Englewood, CO automatically ascends to the Immediate Past President, a position he will hold for one year.

After Dr. Goatley officially takes office, which is at the STMA Annual Meeting in Long Beach January 12 he will appoint an At Large Director and a Commercial Director.