Rain Bird named the six finalists for the Intelligent Use of Water Film Competition.

Rain Bird names finalists for its 2009 Intelligent Use of Water film competition

Rain Bird named the six finalists for the Intelligent Use of Water Film Competition (http://www.iuowfilm.com). Now in its third year, the competition employs the power of film to spur the discussion of the need for more responsible water use, giving both amateur and experienced filmmakers the opportunity to showcase their talents. The competition’s six finalists will be featured guests at a special screening event on September 23 at The Getty Center in Los Angeles, where 2008 Jury Award Winner, David Sutera, will serve as master of ceremonies.

Following the screening of the finalists’ films and a roundtable discussion with the filmmakers and judges, two winners will be announced and awarded cash prizes of $6,000 for the Jury Award and $3,000 for the Audience Award. The evening will also feature the presentation of the inaugural Green Industry Award, given to professionals who, in addition to designing, installing and maintaining green spaces, are also aspiring filmmakers. The winner of the 2009 Green Industry Award will receive a $6,000 prize.

Finalists in the 2009 Intelligent Use of Water Film Competition were selected by a panel of judges according to pre-determined criteria including creativity and effective communication of ideas to intelligently manage and efficiently utilize the Earth’s most precious resource. This year’s finalists are:

Do Your Part – filmmaker: Cyrus Ruiz and Ron San Agustin, Sunland, Calif.
Poor Mark – filmmaker: David Tuck, Austin, Texas
Small Changes – filmmakers: Jennifer & Christopher Gandin Le, Austin, Texas
More or Less – filmmaker: Mark Petersen, Boulder, Colo.
One Single Bucket – filmmaker: Megan Schuyler and Diana Opong-Parry, Spokane, Wash.
The Saving Water Song – filmmaker: Keith Cantrell, McPherson, Kan.

The 2009 Jury Award winner will be chosen by a distinguished panel of judges: Gary McVey, executive director of the American Cinema Foundation; Amanda Pope, associate professor at the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts; Timothy Brick, Chairman of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California; Philip Sokoloski, Manager of Communications, FilmL.A; and Larry Aylward, Editor-in-Chief, Golfdom.

More information on the competition and screening event is available at www.IUOWFILM.com.