2008 SAFE Scholarship Winners Announced

The Foundation for Safer Athletic Field Environments (SAFE) was created to provide research, educational programs, and scholarships geared to sports field specific endeavors. The level of scholarship funding has steadily increased since the scholarship programs inception in 1999 and in 2008 we awarded $12,500 to 8 recipients in two-year, four-year, and graduate level categories. This brings the total scholarships awarded to more than $125,000.

A panel of eleven judges independently scored each entry based on each students’ academic preparation, experience in the sports turf management industry, professional goals, extracurricular activities, and input from academic advisors and employers. Each student also wrote an essay describing his or her background and career aspirations.

The following SAFE Scholarship recipients had their financial aid mailed directly to their university, to be used for tuition, books, or other SAFE approved expenses. The students will be recognized during the Annual Awards Banquet on Fri., Jan. 16, 2009 at the 20th Annual STMA Conference and Exhibition in San Jose, Calif.

2008 SAFE Scholarship Winners

Graduate Scholarships
Dr. James Watson Graduate Scholarship, $2,500
• Alexander Kowalewski, Michigan State University

Four Year Scholarships
Dr. James Watson Undergraduate Scholarship, $2,500
• Nick Gialloretto, Pennsylvania State University
SAFE Undergraduate Scholarship, $1,500
• Lorenzo Lopez, Arizona State University
SAFE Undergraduate Scholarship, $1,000
• Robert Galdieri, Delaware Valley State College
• Jack Weatherwax, Purdue University

Two Year Scholarships
Dr. Fred Grau Memorial Scholarship, $2,000
• Brian McDougal, Michigan State University
SAFE Two Year Scholarship, $1,000
• Hector Ramirez, Mount San Antonio College
• Slim Reeb, Sheridan College