The STMA Awards Committee has honored 10 members with Field of the Year Awards.

STMA names Field of the Year winners

The winners will be recognized at the annual STMA Awards Banquet on Fri., Jan. 16, 2009, in San José. In addition to being presented with a prestigious plaque, each winner also receives a complimentary conference registration, additional banquet tickets, signature clothing, three nights hotel while in San José, and recognition in an issue of SportsTurf magazine.
Criteria is based on the management techniques of the sports turf manager, innovative solutions to problems, the ability to maximize budget dollars and resources, and the safety and playability of the field’s surface. A new category was introduced this year, Sporting Grounds of the Year. Members entered natural sports surfaces used for less traditional sports.
The Committee selected three baseball, two football, two soccer, and one softball field and two sporting grounds as winners this year. They have the opportunity to present an award for each of these sports in three different categories: professional (not applicable to softball), college and schools and parks.
In baseball , the winners are:
Russ Chandler Stadium (college) – Atlanta, GA – John DeWitt
Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium (professional) – Appleton, WI – Eddie Warczak
JW Sadler Field (schools and parks) – Westerville, OH – Kenny Nichols
In football , the winners are:
Lane Stadium, Worsham Field (college) – Blacksburg, VA – Jason Bowers, CSFM
Bobby Gruhn Field (schools and parks) – Gainesville, GA – David Presnell
In soccer , the winners are:
Pape Field (college) – Eugene, OR – Eric Fasbender, CSFM
Dick’s Sporting Goods Park (professional) – Commerce City, CO – Bret Baird
In softball , the winner is:
Patricia Wilson Field at Stetson University (college) – DeLand, FL – George Marshall
In sporting grounds , the winners are:
University of New England Field Hockey (college) – Biddeford, ME – Lance Tibbetts, CSFM
Longwood Cricket Club (professional) – Chestnut Hill, MA – Michael Buras, CSFM.

The STMA Awards Committee includes Chair Jody Gill, Andrew Gossel, Steve LeGros, Doug Linde, Ph.D., Dennis Klein, Chuck Pula, and Jim Welshans.